Virginia Thoroughbred Association Announces New Officers, Board Members - Horse Racing News | Paulick Report

Virginia Thoroughbred Association Announces New Officers, Board Members

Colonial Downs in New Kent, Va.

Virginia Thoroughbred Association Executive Director Debbie Easter welcomed 2023 officers and board members — both new ones and those whose terms had expired — at the most recent VTA board meeting held at the Warrenton office.

The 2023 slate of officers includes President Amy Moore of South Gate Farm in Millwood (breeder of early Kentucky Derby favorite Forte), Vice-President Wayne VanSant of Atoka Forge in Middleburg, Treasurer Turner Kobayashi of Audley Farm Equine in Berryville and Past-President Susan Cooney — who recently collected her 300th training win — of Cooney Racing Stables in Delaplane.

Directors represent three different regions in the Commonwealth. New board members in the Capitol region include Donna Dennehy (Ashland) and Alan Hutchinson (Glen Allen) who join returning members Christine Applegate (Onancock) and Chris Kuhn (Providence Forge).

New Board members in the Potomac Region include Wayne Chatfield-Taylor (Front Royal), Diana McClure (Berryville) and Laura Smith (Purcellville), who join returning members Janet de Teran (Boyce), Pat Ramey (Upperville) and Larry Johnson (Bluemont).

The Blue Ridge district is represented by newcomers Sara Miller (Charlottesville) and Diane Manning (Keswick) who join returnees Brooke Royster (Gordonsville) and Pat Sheperd (Culpepper).

Easter thanked outgoing directors A. Ferris Allen III, James Arrison, Dr. Al Griffin Jr., Ellen Kill Kelly and Robin Mellen along with Past-President Gillian Gordon-Moore for their service and dedication to the VTA.

Paulick Report Icon

Receive daily headlines, breaking news alerts, promotions, and much more!

Become An Insider

Support our journalism and access bonus content on our Patreon stream

Learn More