Beshear Appoints Four New Kentucky Racing Commissioners, Rabinowitz New Chairman - Horse Racing News | Paulick Report

Beshear Appoints Four New Kentucky Racing Commissioners, Rabinowitz New Chairman

Jonathan Rabinowitz, chairman of the Kentucky Horse Racing Commission

When the Kentucky Horse Racing Committee holds its next scheduled meeting on June 16, it will have a new chairman and four new members.

On April 28, an executive order from Democratic Gov. Andy Beshear appointed Alan J. Leavitt, Dr. Naveed Chowhan, Jonathan Rabinowitz and James Edwin “Ed” Worley to the commission. Charles Francis O'Connor has been reappointed.

Beshear designated Rabinowitz the commission's new chairman, replacing Francis S. Kling Jr., who remains a member of the regulatory agency.

Leavitt replaces Hall of Fame jockey Pat Day, whose term expired; Chowhan replaces Lesley Howard, whose term expired but was named to fill the position of Larry Bisig, who resigned from the commission in January; Rabinowitz replaces Bret Jones, whose term expired; and Worley replaces Dr. J. David Richardson, whose term expired.

Rabinowitz, managing partner of the Morgan and Morgan law offices in Indiana, Kentucky and West Virginia, is a co-owner with O'Connor (director of sales for Ashford Stud) of the Amsden Bourbon Bar in Versailles, Ky., and co-owns For the People Racing Stables. He is believed to have played a significant role during the current coronavirus pandemic in getting the governor's office to approve resumption of racing in Kentucky, with Churchill Downs now scheduled to open May 16.

Leavitt is a standardbred owner and breeder and member of the Harness Racing Museum Hall of Fame who previously served on the Kentucky Horse Rac ing Commission.

Chowhan is an oncologist whose medical office is based in New Albany, Ind., and who breeds and owns horses in Kentucky.

Worley is president of WG&T builders and is former Democratic floor leader of the Kentucky Senate. He was named by Keeneland in 2015 to be project manager for a planned racetrack in Corbin in Southern Kentucky.

“It's a good group,” Kentucky Horse Racing Commission executive director Marc Guilfoil said of Beshear's appointees, “and I look forward to working with them.

Altogether, the Kentucky Horse Racing Commission has 15 members.

Paulick Report Icon

Receive daily headlines, breaking news alerts, promotions, and much more!

Ask Ray?

Have a question for Ray that you'd like answered? Have a news tip? Ray will go to his network of sources in pursuit of an answer.

Ask Ray