Max Schneider Awarded Sports Journalism Scholarship From TRA - Horse Racing News | Paulick Report

Max Schneider Awarded Sports Journalism Scholarship From TRA

Vanderbilt graduates and famed sportswriters Fred Russell (left) and Grantland Rice

Max Schneider will enter the freshman class at Vanderbilt University as the 2016 recipient of the 58th Fred Russell-Grantland Rice TRA Scholarship for sports journalism, it was announced Wednesday by the Thoroughbred Racing Associations (TRA).

Schneider, who graduated from Stuyvesant High School in New York, NY, was selected from a record 621 applicants for this year's scholarship in the amount of $25,000 per year for four years at Vanderbilt.

Named in honor of two legendary sports writing alumni of Vanderbilt, the scholarship has an extraordinary record of producing prominent and successful writers and television personalities, including Roy Blount, Jr., Bill Livingston, Skip Bayless, John (Joe Bob Briggs) Bloom, David Sheinin, Tyler Kepner, Lee Jenkins, and Daniel Wolken.

Schneider played junior varsity and varsity baseball for the Stuyvesant Peglegs and received MVP recognition as a freshman, the Coach's Award as a junior and was team captain as a senior. He also led the JV basketball team in scoring. He also served as an umpire for the Greenwich Village Little League and worked all divisions of the league.

He was the youngest intern selected to work during the summer of 2015 at The Players' Tribune, a media platform founded by Derek Jeter where professional athletes write first-person narratives in order to provide insight into the realities of the sport world. Additionally, he was a sports writer for The Spectator, Stuyvesant's award-winning newspaper.

During the summer of 2015, he participated in the Sports Entrepreneurship Program at the Kogod School of Business at American University and was a counselor and baseball specialist at Camp Weequahic in 2016.

He plans to major in communication studies at Vanderbilt and hopes to pursue a career in sports media/sports agency.

The scholarship winners, selected by a panel chaired by Oaklawn Park President Charles J. Cella, have distinguished themselves not just in sports writing and broadcasting, but in other fields as well.

The scholarship honors Vanderbilt alumni Grantland Rice and Fred Russell, two of the greatest sports writers of all time. Initially, the scholarship was created in 1956 to honor Grantland Rice, the dean of American sports writing, who died in 1954. The scholarship received a funding endowment from Mr. Cella on behalf of the TRA in 1986, and its name was amended to include the late Fred Russell, the famed Nashville Banner sports columnist for 69 years and a mentor to many of the scholarship winners.

The four-year scholarship is co-sponsored by Vanderbilt University and the TRA and is awarded to an outstanding high school senior with special interest and potential in the field of sports writing. The TRA represents 44 member racing associations conducting Thoroughbred racing at 40 racetracks in North America.

Fred Russell-Grantland Rice TRA Sports Journalism Scholarship Winners:

Year Recipient
1956 Charles D. Nord
1957 Thomas E. Templin
1958 Larry G. Daughtrey
1959 Roy Blount Jr.
1960 Saxon Kim Chapin
1961 Thomas D. Quinn
1962 Robert E. Theil
1963 Richard S. Osborne
1964 Leonard Goldstein
1965 Michael Kiernan
1966 William Livingston
1967 Barry M. Morris
1968 Dennis P. McAuliffe
1969 David R. Rapp
1970 Skip Bayless
1971 John I. Bloom
1972 Irving Muchnik
1973 Kevin E. Cuneo
1974 Kevin McDonald
1975 David Brooks
1976 Michael L. Jackson
1977 Edward O. Wilson
1979 Kenneth C. Ray
1980 Zachary V. Wenger
1980 Andrew Byer
1981 Charles R. Bush
1982 Mike Cornwell
1983 Tena Bozicevic Herlihy
1984 Thomas J. Wilson
1984 Chuck Manson
1985 Paul J. Richman
1986 Michael Holmes
1987 David Sheinin
1988 Andrew Maraniss
1989 Mitchell Light
1990 Clay Hensley
1991 Matthew O'Keefe
1992 Andrew M. Derr
1993 Tyler Kepner
1994 Allan L. Owen
1995 Lee Jenkins
1996 Not Awarded
1997 Daniel J. Wolken
1998 Samuel H. Heide
1999 Jeffrey D. Lowe
2000 Matthew James Meenan
2001 Robert Craig Murray III
2002 Byron Patrick Dubow
2003 Matthew Collins McDavid
2004 Christopher F. Callaway
2005 Not Awarded
2006 Not Awarded
2007 David A. Namm
2008 Meghan Rose
2009 Eric Single
2010 Jack Kuhlenschmidt
2010 Jackson Martin
2011 Matthew Citak
2011 Anthony Tripodoro
2012 Adam Birnbaum
2012 Benjamin Weinrib
2012 Nathaniel Heagney
2013 Thomas McGrath
2013 Caroline Meisel
2014 William Huesken
2015 Cutler Klein
2016 Max Schneider

Paulick Report Icon

Receive daily headlines, breaking news alerts, promotions, and much more!

Become An Insider

Support our journalism and access bonus content on our Patreon stream

Learn More