Valerie Dailey Elected President Of Florida Thoroughbred Breeders' And Owners' Association - Horse Racing News | Paulick Report

Valerie Dailey Elected President Of Florida Thoroughbred Breeders’ And Owners’ Association

After a brief absence as a member on the Florida Thoroughbred Breeders' and Owners' Association board due to term limits, George Isaacs of Ocala returned to the board Friday while Laurine Fuller-Vargas of Morriston, George Russell of Reddick, T. Paul Bulmahn of Ocala and Nick de Meric of Ocala were re-elected to the board. They will each serve a three-year term that will run until October 2024.

Leaving the board because of term limits as outlined in the FTBOA by-laws was Richard Kent, who predominantly consigns yearlings under the name of his Kaizen Sales based in Ocala. He was commended for his strong commitment and service to the Association and industry.

Breeder, realtor, executive and most recently first vice president of the FTBOA, Valerie Dailey of Ocala was elected president of the Association at the board meeting that followed the Oct. 22 annual member meeting. She said she was grateful to be elected president by her fellow board members.

“What I bring to the table is my knowledge of agriculture and horses and I'm actively involved in that organization and trade. So I kind of bring a different viewpoint in wanting to protect the interests of all farm owners,” Dailey said.

She notes that she is looking forward to the opportunity of learning more about the industry and enhancing her own experience and knowledge as president of the FTBOA.

“The more you learn, the more knowledgeable you are and the better resource you are to educate your members,” she said.

The board also selected the remaining executive committee officers for 2021-22 with Dailey as president while Isaacs was named first vice president. Russell was named second vice president and Brent Fernung will serve as treasurer. Joseph O'Farrell III has been elected as the secretary and Phil Matthews, D.V.M. remains an officer and director as immediate past president.

Dailey has a long history serving both the agriculture and business markets in central Florida.

She has a Bachelor of Science in Food and Resource Economics and a Masters of Science in Agricultural Operations Management, both from the University of Florida. She has been a Florida licensed realtor with Showcase Properties of Central Florida since 2005 where she specializes in listing and selling commercial and agricultural equine properties. Currently, she also serves as District VII vice president for Florida REALTORS, is a member of the Value Adjustment Board of Marion County and a representative for the Florida Association of Realtors. She is on the board of the University of Florida, College of Agricultural, Life Sciences Alumni and the State of Florida 4-H Foundation board. Valerie utilizes her agricultural background and leadership positions to protect the property rights of breeders in Ocala.

Together with husband Hugh and daughter Samantha, Dailey has been a small breeder under the banner of their 3D Farm since 1992 with multiple stakes winners and a Breeders' Cup qualifier. Dailey is a member of the Ocala Metro Chamber and Economic Partnership and has been a member of the FTBOA for 30 years.

Isaacs is a past FTBOA board member and officer, who became stallion manager at Arthur Appleton's Bridlewood Farm in Ocala in 1989 before becoming the general manager for Allen Paulson's Brookside South Farm in 1992. In 1996, Isaacs returned to Bridlewood as general manager and currently manages operations there with John and Leslie Malone, who purchased the farm in 2013.

During his tenure at Bridlewood, more than 100 Florida-bred stakes winners and 12 Grade 1 winners have been bred by the farm.

Isaacs is the chair of the Equine Studies Program at the College of Central Florida, is a Horse Farms Forever board member and an AdventHealth Ocala Foundation board member. Isaacs is the chair for the FTBOA Ocala Downtown Thoroughbred Walk of Fame committee and serves on the FTBOA Farmland Preservation Work Group.

Isaacs will be serving his fifth term on the FTBOA board.

Fuller-Vargas is a third generation horsemen and today owns and operates the 65-acre Cedar Lock Farm with more than 25 thoroughbreds and is home to Run for the Ribbons Inc., a 501(c) 3 program. She also founded the Florida Thoroughbred Expo, which along with Run for the Ribbons, is dedicated to improving the lives of OTTBs and founded by Fuller-Vargas in 2014.

She will be serving her second term on the board. She has dedicated time to thoroughbred retirement programs and assisted the FTBOA charity and social committees.

Russell is past president of the FTBOA and longtime director and officer. He and his wife Karen own the 158-acre Rustlewood Farm in Reddick. They have bred and or raced several graded stakes winners and currently campaign Best Pal (G2)-winner Pappacap.

Russell has been instrumental in the FTBOA's legislative role, governance and racing program development, is past chair of the charity/social committee and is a strong advocate of Florida Thoroughbred Charities. He is currently the chair of the FTBOA Farmland Preservation Work Group.

Russell will be serving his fourth term on the FTBOA board.

Bulmahn is an entrepreneur in various industries and opened GoldMark Farm, a 2,600 acre commercial thoroughbred training center, in 2006.

He serves on the Texas State University board of directors of the College of Business Foundation and is a member of the FTBOA Farmland Preservation Work Group.

Bulmahn will be serving his second term on the FTBOA board.

A native of England, de Meric currently operates with his wife Jaqui, the 240-acre Manuden Farm, de Meric Sales and Eclipse Training Center.

Currently serving on the FTBOA Farmland Preservation Work Group, de Meric is also on the board of Horse Farms Forever and dedicates time to the Ocala Farm Ministry where Jaqui serves on the board. He has also served on the Ocala Breeders' Sales Company board since 2001.

This will be the second term on the FTBOA board for de Meric.

Other FTBOA board members include Fred Brei, Marilyn Campbell, Bobby Jones, Milan Kosanovich, Francis Vanlangendonck and Dr. Fred Yutani.

Paulick Report Icon

Receive daily headlines, breaking news alerts, promotions, and much more!

Ask Ray?

Have a question for Ray that you'd like answered? Have a news tip? Ray will go to his network of sources in pursuit of an answer.

Ask Ray