Eclipse Awards: Epicenter, Nest Receive Three-Year-Old Honors; Ortiz, Pletcher, Godolphin Collect Titles - Horse Racing News | Paulick Report

Eclipse Awards: Epicenter, Nest Receive Three-Year-Old Honors; Ortiz, Pletcher, Godolphin Collect Titles

The 52nd annual Eclipse Awards were presented on Jan. 26, with the coveted champion 3-year-old male trophy going to Epicenter. Until his final race, the Steve Asmussen trainee didn't finish worse than second for Winchell Thoroughbreds in 2022, collecting victories in the Grade 1 Travers, G2 Jim Dandy, G2 Louisiana Derby and G2 Risen Star.

The evening was a big one for Hall of Fame trainer Todd Pletcher, who picked up his eighth Eclipse Award for leading trainer, and also trained champion 3-year-old female Nest, champion 2-year-old male Forte, and older dirt female Malathaat.

Irad Ortiz Jr. collected his fourth career Eclipse Award as champion jockey while the top apprentice title went to Jose Antonio Gomez. For Ortiz, the honor ties him with Pat Day and Javier Castellano for the third-most jockey Eclipse titles. His mounts earned $37,075,772 from performances that included wins in the Belmont Stakes, Breeders' Cup Sprint, Breeders' Cup Juvenile, and Breeders' Cup Filly & Mare Sprint.

Godolphin cleaned up in both the Outstanding Owner and Outstanding Breeder categories. As owner, Godolphin colors were carried by Breeders' Cup winners Cody's Wish, Rebel's Romance, Modern Games, and Mischief Magic. The stable was represented by 14 homebred graded stakes winners in 2022, who put the spotlight on stallions Street Sense and Dubawi.

The complete list of 2022 Eclipse Award winners, with the exception of the Horse of the Year, along with win vote totals by category, appear below:

(Horse ages in parentheses where applicable; Country codes indicate a foreign breeding designation)

Two-Year-Old Male: Forte
Two-Year-Old Filly:  Wonder Wheel
Three-Year-Old Male:  Epicenter
Three-Year-Old Filly:  Nest
Older Dirt Male:  Flightline (4)
Older Dirt Female:  Malathaat (4)
Male Sprinter:  Elite Power (4)
Female Sprinter: Goodnight Olive (4)
Male Turf Horse:  Modern Games (IRE) (3)
Female Turf Horse:  Regal Glory (6)
Steeplechase Horse: Hewick (IRE) (7)
Owner: Godolphin LLC
Breeder: Godolphin LLC
Jockey:  Irad Ortiz Jr.
Apprentice Jockey: Jose Antonio Gomez
Trainer: Todd Pletcher

Voting Overview
In voting that concluded on Jan. 3, 2023, Eclipse Awards voters cast their ballots to rank the top three horses and individuals in each Championship division on a 10-5-1 point system.

This voting established the top three finalists in each division, whose names were released on Jan. 7, 2023.

The tallies below represent only first-place votes from members of the consolidated voting entities, NTRA, Daily Racing Form, and National Turf Writers And Broadcasters.

Voter participation rate: 246/258= 95.3%

Two-Year-Old Male
Forte, 243; Cave Rock, 2; Victoria Road (IRE), 1.

Two-Year-Old Filly 

Wonder Wheel, 240; Hoosier Philly, 3; Meditate (IRE), 2; Julia Shining, 1.

Three-Year-Old Male 

Epicenter, 155; Taiba, 66; Modern Games (IRE), 18; Cyberknife, 4; Rich Strike, 1; Voter Abstentions, 2.

Three-Year-Old Filly 

Nest, 238; Tuesday (IRE), 4; Echo Zulu, 2; Secret Oath, 1; Voter Abstention, 1.

Older Dirt Male

Flightline, 240; Country Grammer, 1; Jackie's Warrior, 1; Life Is Good, 1; Olympiad, 1; Voter Abstentions, 2.

Older Dirt Female 

Malathaat, 241; Clairiere, 2; Goodnight Olive, 2; Letruska, 1.

Male Sprinter

Elite Power, 108; Cody's Wish, 70; Jackie's Warrior, 62; Jack Christopher, 4; Flightline, 1; Golden Pal, 1.

Female Sprinter

Goodnight Olive, 228; Caravel, 12; Echo Zulu, 2;  Matareya, 2; Kimari, 1; Wicked Halo, 1.

Male Turf Horse

Modern Games (IRE), 189; Rebel's Romance (IRE), 50; Nations Pride (IRE), 2; Casa Creed, 1; Classic Causeway, 1; Golden Pal, 1; Gufo, 1; Shirl's Speight, 1.

Female Turf Horse
Regal Glory, 96; In Italian (GB), 51; War Like Goddess, 47; Tuesday (IRE), 40; Caravel, 6; Bleecker Street, 3; Gina Romantica, 1;  Spendarella, 1; Voter Abstention, 1.

Steeplechase Horse

Hewick (IRE), 113; Snap Decision, 88; Down Royal, 15; Howyabud (IRE), 1. Voter Abstentions, 29.

Godolphin LLC, 195; Peter Brant, 20; Hronis Racing LLC, Sienna Farm LLC, Summer Wind Equine LLC, West Point Thoroughbreds, and Woodford Racing LLC, 11; Klaravich Stables Inc., 6; Repole Stable, 5; End Zone Athletics, 2; Charles Fipke, 1; Reeves Thoroughbred Racing, 1; Winchell Thoroughbreds, 1; Voter Abstentions, 4.


Godolphin LLC, 182; Summer Wind Equine LLC, 30; Stonestreet Thoroughbred Holdings LLC, 16; Calumet Farm, 11; Ashview Farm & Colts Neck Stables, 4; Voter Abstentions, 3.

Todd Pletcher, 108, Chad Brown, 95; John Sadler, 16;  Steve Asmussen, 12;  William Mott, 6; Brad Cox, 4; Mark Casse, 1; Phil D'Amato, 1; Voter Abstentions, 3.


Irad Ortiz Jr., 218; Flavien Prat, 24; Jose Ortiz, 1; Joel Rosario, 1, Luis Saez, 1; Voter Abstention, 1.

Apprentice Jockey
Jose Antonio Gomez, 112; Vicente Del-Cid, 91; Jeiron Barbosa, 18; Kylee Jordan, 4; Marshall Mendez, 1; Madeline Rowland, 1; Voter Abstentions, 19.

Paulick Report Icon

Receive daily headlines, breaking news alerts, promotions, and much more!

Become An Insider

Support our journalism and access bonus content on our Patreon stream

Learn More