No Surprise Here: Gun Runner Crowned 2017 Horse Of The Year, Champion Older Male - Horse Racing News | Paulick Report

No Surprise Here: Gun Runner Crowned 2017 Horse Of The Year, Champion Older Male

Gun Runner

Gun Runner was crowned 2017 Horse of the Year and champion older male at the Eclipse Awards ceremony at Gulfstream Park on Jan. 25. The Eclipse Awards, presented by The Stronach Group, Daily Racing Form and the Breeders' Cup, are voted on by the NTRA, Daily Racing Form (DRF) and the National Turf Writers And Broadcasters (NTWAB). The votes are tabulated and certified by Strothman and Company.

“The memories that Gun Runner has allowed us by the year he has had will stay with us,” said trainer Steve Asmussen in his acceptance speech.

The title of champion 3-year-old male went to West Coast, while Abel Tasman was named champion 3-year-old female.

The complete list of winners follows, along with the first-place vote tally for each category, are as follows: 

  • Horse of the Year: Gun Runner (Gun Runner, 248; Arrogate, 2)
  • Two-Year-Old Male: Good Magic (Good Magic, 131; Bolt d'Oro, 113; Catholic Boy, 3; Firenze Fire, 1; Mendelssohn, 1; Solomini, 1.)
  • Two-Year-Old Filly: Caledonia Road (Caledonia, Road, 161; Rushing Fall, 68; Moonshine Memories, 17; Dream Tree, 2; Dream It Is, 1; Road to Victory, 1.)
  • Three-Year-Old Male: West Coast (West Coast, 229; Always Dreaming, 14; Battle of Midway, 5; Irap, 1; Mastery, 1)
  • Three-Year-Old Filly: Abel Tasman (Abel Tasman, 244; Unique Bella, 5; Elate, 1.)
  • Older Dirt Male: Gun Runner (Gun Runner, 247; Arrogate, 3.)
  • Older Dirt Female: Forever Unbridled (Forever Unbridled, 237; Songbird, 8; Stellar Wind, 4; Voter Abstentions, 1.)
  • Male Sprinter: Roy H (Roy H, 241; Imperial Hint, 5; Drefong, 1; Mind Your Biscuits, 1; Stormy Liberal, 1; Voter Abstentions, 1.)
  • Female Sprinter: Unique Bella (Unique Bella, 90, Paulassilverlining, 60; Ami's Mesa, 41; Bar of Gold, 36; Lady Aurelia, 8; By the Moon, 5; American Gal, 3; Finley'sluckycharm, 1; Voter Abstentions, 6.)
  • Male Turf Horse: World Approval (World Approval, 211; Beach Patrol 20; Talismanic (GB), 11; Highland Reel (IRE), 8.)
  • Female Turf Horse: Lady Eli (Lady Eli, 203; Wuheida (GB), 33; Off Limits, 12; Cambodia, 1; La Coronel, 1.)
  • Steeplechase Horse: Scorpiancer (IRE) (Scorpiancer (IRE), 92; All the Way Jose, 70; Mr. Hot Stuff, 35; Modem (GB), 7; Diplomat, 4; Swansea Mile (IRE), 3; Voter Abstentions, 39.)
  • Owner: Juddmonte Farms, Inc. (Juddmonte Farms, 143; Winchell Thoroughbreds, 31; Godolphin Racing, 21; Sol Kumin, Head of Plains, Sheep Pond Partners, 19; Klaravich Stables, Inc., and William H. Lawrence, 11; Calumet Farm, 7; End Zone Athletics, 3; Charles Fipke, 2; Coolmore, 1; e Five Racing Thoroughbreds, 1; Fox Hill Farm, 1; Live Oak Plantation, 1; John Oxley, 1; Stonestreet Stables, 1; Voter Abstentions, 7.)
  • Breeder: Clearsky Farms (Clearsky Farms, 141; WinStar Farm, 72; Charles Fipke, 8; Belisu Stables, 7; Live Oak Stud, 6; Godolphin Racing/Darley, 4; Brereton C. Jones, 3; Adena Springs, 1; Calumet Farm, 1; Kenneth and Sarah Ramsey, 1; Voter Abstentions, 6.)
  • Jockey: Jose Ortiz (Jose Ortiz, 189; Mike Smith, 45; Irad Ortiz, Jr.,10; Javier Castellano, 4; Voter Abstentions, 2.)
  • Apprentice Jockey: Evin Roman (Evin Roman, 232; Katie Clawson, 4; Jenn Miller, 1. Voter Abstentions, 13.)
  • Trainer: Chad Brown (Chad Brown, 215; Bob Baffert, 16; Steve Asmussen, 13; Mark Casse, 2; Todd Pletcher, 2; Voter Abstentions, 2.)


Award of Merit

The recipient of the Award of Merit, voted on by a panel of representatives from the three presenting organizations and previously announced, is Frank Stronach. The Award of Merit is presented to honor outstanding lifetime achievement in the Thoroughbred industry.

Special Award

The recipient of the Special Awards, as voted by a panel representing the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters and Daily Racing Form, and previously announced, are San Luis Rey Downs/Camarero Racetrack Rescue and Response, and the National Thoroughbred Racing Association for improvements in Federal regulations for Horseplayers and the industry.

Media Eclipse Awards

Media Eclipse Awards also are given in the categories of photography, audio and multi-media Internet, news/enterprise writing, feature/commentary writing, national television–feature and national television–live racing programming to recognize members of the media for outstanding coverage of Thoroughbred racing. The 2017 Media Eclipse Awards winners, determined by a judges' panel for each category and previously announced, are:

Live Racing Programming – NBC Sports – “2017 Kentucky Derby,” Rob Hyland, Coordinating Producer; May 6, 2017.

Television Feature – NBCSN – “My Kentucky Home,” Tom Hammond, Narrator and co-producer; May 3, 2017

Audio/Multi-Media and Internet – Daily Racing Form – “Chasing Man o' War's Ghost,” Barbara Livingston, writer, photographer and narrator, March 24, 2017.

Writing – News/Enterprise – Denise Steffanus – “'A Call for Common Sense Testing,” Trainer magazine, February-March, 2017.

Writing – Feature/Commentary –  Jason Frakes – “Gunnevera Trainer Kidnapped Twice, Now in Kentucky Derby,” which was published on April 30, 2017 in the Louisville Courier-Journal

Photography – Nancy Rokos – “Fractious Two-Year-Old,” Burlington (N.J.) County Times, October 7, 2017.

Paulick Report Icon

Receive daily headlines, breaking news alerts, promotions, and much more!

Become An Insider

Support our journalism and access bonus content on our Patreon stream

Learn More